Chair Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Katherine E. (Katie) Arrington Gary E. Clary MaryGail K. Douglas Phyllis J. Henderson Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Mandy Powers Norrell J. Todd Rutherford Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211 Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

Healthcare and Regulatory Subcommittee Meeting Tuesday, June 20, 2017, at 2:00 pm Blatt Building Room 110 William K. (Bill) Bowers Neal Collins Raye Felder William M. "Bill" Hixon Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Carmen J. McCutcheon Simon Research Analyst/Auditor

Archived Video Available

I. Pursuant to House Legislative Oversight Committee Rule 6.8, South Carolina ETV was allowed access for streaming the meeting. You may access an archived video of this meeting by visiting the South Carolina General Assembly's website (http://www.scstatehouse.gov) and clicking on Committee Postings and Reports, then under House Standing Committees click on Legislative Oversight. Then, click on Video Archives for a listing of archived videos for the Committee.

Attendance

I. The House Legislative Oversight Committee was called to order by Chair Phyllis Henderson on Tuesday, June 20, 2017, in Room 110 of the Blatt Building. All members of the Committee were present for all or a portion of the meeting except, Representative MaryGail Douglas.

Minutes

- I. House Rule 4.5 requires standing committees to prepare and make available to the public the minutes of committee meetings, but the minutes do not have to be verbatim accounts of meetings. It is the practice of the Legislative Oversight Committee to provide minutes for its subcommittee meetings.
- II. Representative Taylor moves to approve the revised meeting minutes from February 9, February 23, March 23, and April 20, 2017 meetings to remove scrivener's error from the letter head, which references to former Rep. Norman:

Representative Taylor moves to approve the revised meeting minutes from February 9, February 23, March 23, and April 20, 2017 meetings to remove the scrivener's error from the letter head, which references to former Rep. Norman.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (Absent)	Not Voting (Present)
Rep. William K. Bowers	✓			
Rep. MaryGail Douglas			✓	
Rep. Henderson	✓			
Rep. Taylor	✓			

III. Representative Taylor moves to approve the minutes from the May 9, 2017 Subcommittee meeting:

Representative Taylor moves to approve the minutes from the May 9, 2017 Subcommittee meeting.	Yea	Nay	Not Voting (Absent)	Not Voting (Present)
Rep. William K. Bowers	✓			
Rep. MaryGail Douglas			✓	
Rep. Henderson	✓			
Rep. Taylor	✓			

Meeting

- I. Chair Henderson gives an overview of the study thus far, and reminds agency personnel who were sworn in during prior meetings that they remain under oath anytime they are with the Subcommittee or Committee.
- II. Chair Henderson swears in Jacquelyn S. Dickman, Assistant General Counsel for DHEC.
- III. Chair Henderson explains that Director Heigel will present groups of recommendations that the agency would like to present information on.
- IV. Director Heigel gives a quick overview of the Dam Safety Program and highlights seven of the fifty-eight recommendations. The seven recommendation areas discussed include:
 - a. Rabies Control Act
 - b. Solid Waste Policy and Management Act
 - c. Narcotics and Control Substances Act
 - d. Prescription Monitoring Act
 - e. Vital Statistics
 - f. Contagious and Infectious Disease
 - g. Emergency Health Powers Act
- V. Members ask questions, which Director Heigel and Assistant General Counsel Dickman answer.

VI. The meeting was adjourned.